MNN Galleries

How lenticular clouds are formed

lenticular clouds

Photo: lfstewart/Shutterstock

7 of 13

On a different level

There are actually three types of lenticular clouds: altocumulus standing lenticularis (ACSL), stratocumulus standing lenticular (SCSL), and cirrocumulus standing lenticular (CCSL). The category into which a lenticular cloud falls depends on the height at which it forms above the Earth’s surface.