The last total lunar eclipse until 2014 occurred early on the morning of Dec. 10, giving skywatchers a spectacular view of a supersized, reddened moon.


Observers in western Canada and the United States, as well as Alaska, Hawaii, Australia, New Zealand, and central and eastern Asia, were treated to a stunning celestial show, as Earth passed between the sun and the moon, casting our planet's natural satellite completely in shadow.


The eclipse started at 7:45 a.m. EST (4:45 a.m. PST, 1245 GMT), and by 9:05 a.m. EST (6:05 a.m. PST, 1405 GMT), the moon was fully engulfed in an orange-red glow.


This eclipse also gave observers an extra special treat, with the low-hanging moon appearing to be inflated and supersized. In reality, this is simply a neat illusion, because the moon is not actually any wider. [More Amazing Photos of the Dec. 10 Total Lunar Eclipse]


The lunar eclipse in NevadaSkywatchers in western Canada and the United States were best placed to catch the illusion of this oversized moon cast in reddish hues.


Observer David Prosper captured the reddened moon hanging in a pink sky from his backyard in Oakland, Calif.


"I got up early with my neighbors this morning and managed to snap some pics of the moody red moon as it was eclipsed deep in the west this morning," Prosper wrote in an email to


Another skywatcher, Jodie Lawrosky, snapped the moon at different points throughout the eclipse from Phoenix, Ariz.


"I’m no Ansel Adams…but it was fun to watch," Lawrosky wrote.


Photo: Collin Grady/Flickr


Follow for the latest in space science and exploration news on Twitter @Spacedotcom and on Facebook.


Related on


Copyright 2011 Space, a TechMediaNetwork company. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.