Calif. bans tanning bed use for minors
California is first state to ban minors from using ultraviolet tanning devices. The law will go into effect on Jan. 1, 2012.
Sun, Oct 09 2011 at 5:15 PM
TANNING: Previously, California had banned minors under the age of 14 from using tanning beds, but allowed those between 14 and 18 years of age to use tanning beds with parental consent. (Photo: ZUMA Press)
LOS ANGELES - Minors in the state of California will no longer be allowed to use tanning beds after Gov. Jerry Brown signed a bill on Oct. 9 prohibiting anyone under the age of 18 from using ultraviolet tanning devices.
California is the first state in the nation to ban minors from using tanning beds, legislators said.
Previously, California had banned minors under the age of 14 from using tanning beds, but allowed those between 14 and 18 years of age to use tanning beds with parental consent.
The bill was part of a cluster of legislation signed on Sunday designed to "improve the health and well-being of Calfornians," according to a statement from the governor's office.
"I praise Gov. Brown for his courage in taking this much-needed step to protect some of California's most vulnerable residents — our kids — from what the 'House of Medicine' has conclusively shown is lethally dangerous: ultraviolet-emitting radiation from tanning beds," the bill's sponsor, state Senator Ted Lieu, said in a statement.
"If everyone knew the true dangers of tanning beds, they'd be shocked. Skin cancer is a rising epidemic and the leading cause of cancer death for women between 25 and 29."
The law will go into effect on Jan. 1, 2012, according to Lieu's office.
(Reporting by Mary Slosson. Editing by Peter Bohan)
Copyright 2011 Reuters US Online Report Domestic News
You might also like: