MNN Galleries

13 animals of the Arctic

By: Caroline Inge on Nov. 22, 2011, 8:12 a.m.
Polar Bears

Photo: outdoorsman/Shutterstock

8 of 15

Polar bear

The polar bear is also known by the names "nanook," "nanuq," "ice bear," "sea bear" and "isbj," according to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. These majestic white bears are listed as "threatened" and protected by the U.S. Endangered Species Act. Their diet consists primarily of seals, and because of this, they live in mostly coastal areas.