The third annual Climate Leadership Awards are currently underway, and there is still time for you to participate. The awards are given to colleges and universities across the U.S. that have shown leadership in the innovative techniques and programs used to "transition society to a clean, just, and sustainable future."


Each of the Climate Leadership Awards 20 finalists have produced a short video highlighting their climate innovation on campus. And now it's up to you to decide which schools will get the prize: top schools will have the opportunity to be featured at the GW Moving the Planet Forward conference this month at George Washington University as well as in blog posts on the Huffington Post and National Geographic’s Great Energy Challenge blog.  


Then, in May, the steering committee from the American College & University Presidents' Climate Commitment (ACUPCC), an agreement among nearly 700 colleges and universities to promote sustainability through teaching and action, will select the official 2012 Climate Leadership Award winners. One to two institutions from each Carnegie Classification will receive an award, which will be announced during the ACUPCC Climate Leadership Summit at American University in Washington, D.C., on June 21 and 22. 


Here is the full list of finalists for the 2012 Climate Leadership Awards:


Doctorate Granting University

Arizona State University

Georgia Institute of Technology

New York University

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

University of South Florida


Master’s Colleges & Universities

Florida Gulf Coast University

Goddard College in Vermont

University of Central Missouri

William Paterson University of New Jersey


Baccalaureate Colleges

Allegheny College in Pennsylvania

Carleton College in Minnesota

Luther College in Iowa

Spelman College in Georgia


Associate/tribal College

Austin Community College District in Texas

Chandler–Gilbert Community College in Arizona

Glendale Community College in Arizona

Haywood Community College in North Carolina


Special Focus Institutions/Other

Pratt Institute and PALS in New York

SUNY Upstate Medical University in New York

University of California System

Public voting ends on April 14, so go head over to to pick your favorite.

Vote for your favorite Climate Leader College
Climate Leadership Awards recognize leadership in climate change innovation by colleges and universities across the country.