For the first time in its 256-year history, Guinness will be an animal-friendly beer company.

The news, which coincides with World Vegan Day, is a win for those who have campaigned over the past several years for the Dublin-based brewery to stop using isinglass in its products. The substance, obtained from dried fish bladders, is widely used to accelerate the settling of yeast in beer.

“Whilst isinglass is a very effective means of clarification, and has been used for many years, we expect to stop using it as the new filtration asset is introduced,” a spokesman told The Times.

Because small particles of fish bladder remain in the final product, Guinness has been one of many alcoholic beverages that vegans and vegetarians have shied away from. The news, as you might expect, received overwhelming support online.

To achieve it's new vegan-friendly status, Guinness is bringing a new filtration plant online that will fully clarify its beer without isinglass. The company expects the new facility to begin production sometime in 2016.

Michael d'Estries ( @michaeldestries ) covers science, technology, art, and the beautiful, unusual corners of our incredible world.

How Guinness is going vegan
Isinglass, sourced from dried fish bladders, is commonly used to help brewing yeast settle faster.