Gluten-free beers are harder to find than eco-friendly beers. But for those who follow a gluten- or wheat-free diet or have Celiac disease, there are beers available to satiate that thirst for a brew.
Gluten-free beers typically use buckwheat or sorghum in place of the high gluten grains of barley, rye or wheat. As a result, gluten-free beers do tend toward the sweeter side of the taste spectrum.
Brewed by Anheuser-Busch, Redbridge is the company’s gluten-free beer. Unlike a number of other options, Redbridge is available nationwide, so you shouldn’t have any problem finding it at a store near you. Read more: Redbridge beer.
Bard’s Tale Beer
Bard’s was crafted by diagnosed celiacs for other celiacs. The beer is a medium-bodied American lager, made with sorghum, yeast, hops and water. It’s not available everywhere, but the brewery’s Web site has a handy locator tool. Read more: Bard’s Tale Beer.
Ramapo Valley Brewery
Based out of New York, Ramapo Valley brews Honey Beer. Their gluten-free beer uses amber honey and molasses for fermentable and taste. Also, the company says that its Honey Beer is certified Kosher for Passover. Ramapo Valley is available nationwide. Check with your local alcohol retailers. Read more: Ramapo Valley Brewery.
From Belgium, Green’s provides three gluten-free ales in the United States (though their entire line of drinks are gluten-free). Discovery is a medium-bodied amber ale; Endeavor is a dubbel-ale; and Quest is the brewery’s light-bodied tripel ale. Since it’s an import, finding Green’s will be a bit tricky, but it is worth the search. Read more: Green’s Gluten-Free Beer.
This Australian brewery produces only gluten-free lager, including a light varietal. It's another import, so check with your retailers. The company currently has a number of other gluten-free products in the works, including two ales. Read more: O’Brien Brewing.
Did we miss any? What’s your gluten-free beer of choice? Let us know in the comments.