The five finalists for the 2011 Atlanta Cox Conserves Heroes program have been announced and now it is up to the public to decide who will win. Cox Enterprises and The Trust for Public Land (TPL) created the Cox Conserves Heroes program to recognize citizens that strive to improve public outdoor spaces in their communities. This year marks the third year for the program in the city.


After a nomination period, a panel of judges selected the following five finalists for the 2011 program. As part of the process, each finalist needed to choose his or her favorite environmental charity and each of these nonprofit organizations will receive a donation courtesy of the Cox Conserves Heroes program.


  • Connie Weathers – Sustainable Norcross
  • Greg Burson – Park Pride
  • Lane Hurst – Elachee Nature Science Center
  • Malcolm Barnard – Johns Creek Community Wildlife Habitat
  • Na’Taki Osborne-Jelks – West Atlanta Watershed Alliance

The public voting period is open through November 7, 2011. The winner of the 2011 Cox Conserves Heroes program will receive $5,000 to donate to his or her charity of choice. The remaining finalists will each receive $1,250 to donate to their chosen environmental nonprofit organization.


Learn more about each of the finalists and their charities and then vote on your favorite by visiting the Cox Conserves Heroes page.

Atlanta Cox Conserves Heroes finalists named
Five finalists have been chosen in the third annual Atlanta Cox Conserves Heroes program.